Office of the S. S. A. to Gov Masari

Visit Sahel Medicare Pharmacy & Dental Clinic Today

Visit TIS Dental & Medical Services Today


Buy Mobile Phones Contact 08035947436


Buy new or used Tyres and Rims in Katsina 08032222751



Home Latest Update: Live updates as Katsina APC delegates pick Senatorial candidates
Update: Live updates as Katsina APC delegates pick Senatorial candidates

Update: Live updates as Katsina APC delegates pick Senatorial candidates


No fewer than 14 aspirants will jostle for the senatorial tickets of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in Katsina State today, Wednesday, 3rd October 2018, while 57 will also battle to secure the 14 House of Representatives tickets of the party across the state for 2019 general elections, Leadership reports.

The spokesman of the Katsina APC, Abubakar Gambo Danmusa, who confirmed this in a telephone interview, said about 137 aspirants under the platform of the party would vie for the party’s tickets on Friday, 5th October 2018, to contest for the 34 seats in the state House of Assembly, bringing the total to 208.

Although Danmusa did not disclose the reason for the postponement of the lawmakers’ primaries, it was, however, learned that it might not be unconnected to the need for further consultations and consensus to reduce budding internal conflicts in the party.

A total of eight contenders, investigations revealed, are eyeing the Katsina South Senatorial District’s ticket of the party while the senator-elect for Katsina North, Ahmed Babba Kaita, and Dr. Adamu Katsyel would slug it out.

The aspirants for Katsina South Senatorial Zone ticket of the party include the Chief of Staff to Governor Aminu Bello Masari, Alhaji Bello Mandiya; former boss of NYSC, Brig. Gen. Maharazu Tsiga; special adviser on Banking to Governor Masari, Alhaji Faruk Jobe, and Engr. Nura Khalil among others.

A source close to the APC secretariat noted that the postponement of the senatorial primaries in the state might not be unconnected to the pressure generated by the battle between the incumbent lawmaker, Senator Umar Kurfi, and Engr. Barkiyya for the party’s ticket although Senator Ibrahim Ida is also in the race.

Follow us for update on the primary elections as they unfold:

4:00 pm – Accreditation for delegates completed

5:30 pm – Voting started

8:30 pm – Voting concluded in Daura zone and votes were counted.

*Honourable Ahmad Babba Kaita defeated Professor Katsayal to emerge the winner.

Result for Daura zone APC Senatorial primary election:

Honourable. Ahmad Babba Kaita – 2384

Professor Katsayal – 0

Invalid – 21

10:30 pm – Voting concluded in Katsina Zone while it is still ongoing in Funtua zone.

12:00am – Votes sorting ongoing in Katsina senatorial zone while voting still ongoing in Funtua zone.

12:30am – Votes sorted and counting begins in Katsina Senatorial Zone

Result for Katsina Senatorial zone APC primary election 

Invalid – 64

Senator Ibrahim Ida – 897 votes

Senator Umar Nzeribe – 141

Abdulaziz Musa Yar’adua – 913

Engineer Kabir Barkiya – 1466

Result for Funtua senatorial zone APC primary election

Bello Mandiya emerged winner of the Funtua Zone APC Senatorial Primaries.

He defeated Hon. Faruk Lawal Jobe, Engr. Nura Khalil, Brigadier General Maharazu Tsiga (Rtd), Engr. Abubakar Murtala and Malam Garba Usman respectively.

The result is as follows:

Bello Mandiya – 1469 votes

Hon Faruk jobe – 1095 votes

Engr Nura Khalil – 618 votes

Maharazu Tsiga – 39 votes

Garb Usman – 6 votes

Engr Abubakar Murtala – 3 votes

Invalid – 233 votes



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

SAHEL WINDSCREEN REPAIR: We repair car windscreen Professionally

Aminchi Klin Motors

%d bloggers like this: