Home Politics Musa Haro, Buhari’s Nephew Quits Daura Zone Senate Race
Musa Haro, Buhari’s Nephew Quits Daura Zone Senate Race

Musa Haro, Buhari’s Nephew Quits Daura Zone Senate Race


The seat of Katsina North Senatorial District became vacant following the death of Senator Mustapha Bukar, months ago.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has said it will conduct bye election for the seat, which threw many prominent people from Katsina North senatorial district into the contest.

But one of the front liners being considered likely to clinch the APC ticket for the upcoming bye elections for the Senate seat, Hon. Musa Haro, a nephew to President Muhammadu Buhari has quit from the race.

In a statement published on his Facebook campaign handle, Hon. Haro confirmed his withdrawal from the race.

His withdrawal from the race might not be unconnected to the calls for President Muhammadu Buhari to seek for a second in office.

Haro is widely regarded as one of the five front liners capable of winning the Senate race.

Other front liners being considered in the race include a 72-years-old retired federal civil servant, Dr. Salisu Ingawa, a former Katsina State Governorship aspirant in the 2015 APC primaries, Architect Ahmed Kabiru Abdullahi, member representing Ingawa-Kankiya- Kusada Federal constituency, Hon. Ahmed Babba Kaita; member representing Baure-Zango Federal constituency, Hon. Nasiru Sani Zangon Daura, and former speaker of the Katsina State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Yau Gwajogwajo.

Hon. Musa Haro, Arc. Ahmed Kabiru Abdullahi and Dr. Salisu Ingawa were said to be eyeing the senate seat for 2019 even before the demise of Senator Mustapha Bukar.

They are widely believed to have the grass roots support of the party across the 12 Local governments of Katsina North.

Hons Ahmed Babba Kaita, Nasiru Sani Zangon and Yau Gwajogwajo were said to have show interest after the death of Senator Bukar and have not had enough time to actually galvanise support beyond their immediate Local Governments.

It is generally believe that the Katsina North Senatorial Seat was zoned to the 5 Local Governments of Daura Emirate which include Daura, Maiadua, Baure, Sandamu and Zango.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *